In January 1978.


In January 1978, “Blank” label released “The Modern Dance”, debut Pere Ubu studio album. It was recorded October 1976; January 1977; November 1977, at “Cleveland Recording” and “Suma Studios” in Cleveland, Ohio, and was produced by David Thomas, Tom Herman, Allen Ravenstine, Tony Maimone, Scott Krauss, Tim Wrightand Ken Hamann.


  • David Thomas– vocals, musette, percussion
  • Tom Herman – guitar, backing vocals
  • Allen Ravenstine– EML 101 & 200 analog synthesizers, saxophone, tapes
  • Tony Maimone– bass, piano, backing vocals
  • Scott Krauss– drums
  • Tim Wright– bass guitar
  • W. Taylor – sleeve artwork
  • Ken Hamann – engineering
  • Mike Bishop – engineering assistance
  • Paul Hamann – engineering assistance
  • Mik Mellen – sleeve photography

Track listing:

All tracks by David Thomas, Tom Herman, Allen Ravenstine, Tony Maimone and Scott Krauss, except where noted.

  1. Non-Alignment Pact
  2. The Modern Dance
  3. Laughing
  4. Street Waves
  5. Chinese Radiation
  6. Life Stinks – Peter Laughner
  7. Real World
  8. Over My Head
  9. Sentimental Journey
  10. Humor Me



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.