On November 28, 1980.


On November 28, 1980, “Stiff” label released “Laughter”, the third Ian Dury & The Blockheads album. It was recorded in 1980, and was produced by Ian Dury, Wilko Johnson, Johnny Turnbull, Mick Gallagher, Norman Watt-Roy, Charley Charles and Davey Payne.


  • Ian Dury- vocals
  • Wilko Johnson- guitars, backing vocals
  • Johnny Turnbull- guitars, backing vocals
  • Mick Gallagher- keyboards, synthesisers
  • Norman Watt-Roy- bass
  • Charley Charles – drums
  • Davey Payne- saxophones, harmonica, flute
  • Don Cherry- pocket trumpet
  • Will Gaines – tap dance
  • Ray Cooper– percussion
  • Ivor Raymonde– strings
  • Ian Horne – engineer, mixing
  • Rick Wernham – engineer assistant
  • Ray Gregory, Brain Love – design
  • Chris Killip– photography

Track listing:

  1. Superman’s Big Sister – Ian Dury, Wilko Johnson
  2. Pardon – Ian Dury, Norman Watt-Roy
  3. Delusions of Grandeu – Ian Dury, Mick Gallagher
  4. Yes and No (Paula) – Ian Dury, Davey Payne
  5. Dance of the Crackpots – Ian Dury, Johnny Turnbull
  6. Over The Points – Ian Dury, Johnny Turnbull
  7. (Take Your Elbow Out of the Soup) You’re Sitting On The Chicken – Ian Dury, Mick Gallagher
  8. Uncoolohol – Ian Dury, Charley Charles
  9. Hey, Hey, Take Me Away – Ian Dury, Mick Gallagher
  10. Manic Depression (Jimi) – Ian Dury, Mick Gallagher
  11. Oh Mr. Peanut – Ian Dury, Wilko Johnson
  12. Fucking Ada – Ian Dury, Johnny Turnbull


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.