On October 22, 1965.


On October 22, 1965, “Pye” label released “Fairytale”, the second Donovan studio album. It was recorded September 1965, at “Peer Music” in London, and was produced by Peter Eden, Geoff Stephens and Terry Kennedy.


  • Donovan – vocals, banjo, guitar, harmonica
  • Shawn Phillips– guitar, 12 string guitar
  • Harold McNair– flute
  • Brian Locking– bass
  • Skip Alan (Alan Skipper) – drums
  • Ren Grevatt – liner notes

Track listing:

  1. Colours – Donovan Leitch
  2. To Try for the Sun – Donovan Leitch
  3. Sunny Goodge Street – Donovan Leitch
  4. Oh Deed I Do – Bert Jansch
  5. Circus of Sour – Paul Bernath
  6. The Summer Day Reflection Song – Donovan Leitch
  7. Candy Man – traditional; arranged by Donovan Leitch
  8. Jersey Thursday – Donovan Leitch
  9. Belated Forgiveness Plea – Donovan Leitch
  10. The Ballad of a Crystal Man – Donovan Leitch
  11. The Little Tin Soldier – Shawn Phillips
  12. The Ballad of Geraldine – Donovan Leitch

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.