On October 20, 1976.


On October 20, 1976, “Warner Bros” label released “Zoot Allures”, the twenty-second Frank Zappa album. It was recorded May–June, 1976, at “Record Plant Studios” in Los Angeles, and live in Osaka, Japan, February 3, 1976, and was produced by Frank Zappa.


  • Frank Zappa– lead vocals, guitar, bass, synthesizer, keyboards, director of recreational activities
  • Terry Bozzio– drums , backing vocals
  • Davey Moiré – lead and backing vocals, engineer
  • Andre Lewis– lead and backing vocals, organ
  • Roy Estrada– lead and backing vocals, bass, drone bass
  • Napoleon Murphy Brock– vocals
  • Ruth Underwood– synthesizer, marimba
  • Captain Beefheart– harmonica (credited as “Donnie Vliet”)
  • Ruben Ladron de Guevara – backing vocals
  • Ian Underwood– saxophone
  • Bruce Fowler– trombone
  • Sal Marquez – trumpet
  • Dave Parlato – bass
  • Lu Ann Neil –harp
  • Sparky Parker – backing vocals
  • Michael Braunstein – engineer
  • Arnie Acosta – mastering
  • Amy Bernstein – layout, design
  • Cal Schenkel– design
  • Gary Heery – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Frank Zappa, except where noted.

  1. Wind Up Workin’ in a Gas Station
  2. Black Napkins
  3. The Torture Never Stops
  4. Pinky
  5. Find Her Finer
  6. Friendly Little Finger
  7. Wonderful Wino – Simmons, Frank Zappa
  8. Zoot Allures
  9. Disco Boy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.