On October 3, 2006.


On October 3, 2006, “Capitol” label released “The Crane Wife” the fourth Decemberists album. It was recorded March – June 2006, and was produced by Tucker Martine, Chris Walla and The Decemberists.


  • Colin Meloy– vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, bouzouki, percussion
  • Chris Funk– guitar, pedal steel, bouzouki, banjo, hammered dulcimer, hurdy-gurdy, percussion, backing vocals
  • Jenny Conlee – piano, Wurlitzer, pump organ, Hammond organ, Moog bass, accordion, glockenspiel, percussion, backing vocals
  • Nate Query– electric bass, upright bass, cello, percussion, backing vocals
  • John Moen– drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Eyvind Kang- viola, violin
  • Christopher Walla – keyboards, backing vocals
  • Steve Drizos -hand drums
  • Laura Veirs- duet vocal
  • Ezra Holbrook – backing vocals
  • Tucker Martine, Christopher Walla – mixing
  • Roger Seibel – mastering
  • Rich Hipp – engineer assistant
  • Carson Ellis -design, illustrations, lettering
  • Colin Meloy – design
  • Mike King – layout, design
  • Band portraits drawn from photographs by Autumn de Wilde

Track listing:

All tracks by Colin Meloy.

  1. The Crane Wife 3
  2. The Island: Come and See/The Landlord’s Daughter/You’ll Not Feel the Drowning
  3. Yankee Bayonet (I Will Be Home Then)
  4. O Valencia!
  5. The Perfect Crime #2
  6. When the War Came
  7. Shankill Butchers
  8. Summersong
  9. The Crane Wife 1 & 2
  10. Sons & Daughters

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.