On September 26, 1995.


On September 26, 1995, “DGC” label released “Washing Machine”, the ninth Sonic Youth studio album. It was recorded January – May 1995, at “Easley Studios” in Memphis, Tennessee, and “Mott and Greene Street Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Thurston Moore, Kim Gordon, Lee Ranaldo, Steve Shelley and John Siket.


  • Thurston Moore– vocals, guitar
  • Lee Ranaldo– vocals, guitar
  • Kim Gordon– vocals, guitar, bass
  • Steve Shelley– drums
  • Kim Deal– additional vocals
  • Lorette Velvette – additional vocals
  • Melissa Dunn – additional vocal
  • John Siket– recording, mixing
  • Davis McCain – engineer assistant
  • Doug Easley – engineering assistant
  • Phil Painson – engineering assistant
  • Greg Calbi – mastering
  • Mike Mills – art direction
  • Lance Acord – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Thurston Moore, Kim Gordon, Lee Ranaldo and Steve Shelley except where noted.

  1. Becuz
  2. Junkue’s Promise
  3. Saucer-Like
  4. Washing Machine
  5. Unwind
  6. Little Trouble Girl
  7. No Queen Blues
  8. Party Lies
  9. Becuz Coda
  10. Skip Tracer – additional lyrics by Leah Singer
  11. The Diamond Sea

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.