On September 23, 1997.


On September 23, 1997, “Elektra” label released “Dots and Loops”, the fifth Stereolab studio album. It was recorded March 1997 – April 1997, and was produced by Andi Toma, Laetitia Sadier, Tin Gane, Mary Hansen, Richard Harrison, Morgane Lhote, Andy Ramsay and Sean O’Hagan.


  • Laetitia Sadier– vocals
  • Tim Gane– guitar
  • Mary Hansen– guitar
  • Morgane Lhote – keyboards
  • Sean O’Hagan– piano, Fender Rhodes piano, Farfisa organ
  • Richard Harrison – bass
  • Andy Ramsay – drums
  • Rebecca McFaul – strings
  • Shelley Weiss – strings
  • Poppy Branders – strings
  • Maureen Loughnane – strings
  • Paul Mertens – brass
  • Dave Max Crawford – brass
  • Jeb Bishop – brass
  • Ross Reed – brass
  • Xavier “Fischfinger” Fischer – piano
  • John McEntire– synthesizer, percussion, vibraphone, marimba
  • Douglas McCombs – acoustic bass
  • Andi Toma – electronic percussion, sound effects
  • Jan St. Werner – sound effects, insect horns

Track listing:

All tracks by Tim Gane and Laetitia Sadier, except where noted.

  1. Brakhage
  2. Miss Modular
  3. The Flower Called Nowhere
  4. Diagonals
  5. Prisoner of Mars
  6. Rainbo Conversation
  7. Refractions in the Plastic Pulse – Tim Gane, Andy Ramsay, Laetitia Sadier
  8. Parsec
  9. Ticker-Tape of the Unconscious
  10. Contronatura

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.