On September 23, 1985.


On September 23, 1985, “Elektra” label released “The Wishing Chair”, the second 10,000 Maniacs studio album. It was recorded June 1984 – May 1985, at “Livingstone Studios” in London, and was produced by Joe Boyd.


  • Natalie Merchant– voice
  • Robert Buck- acoustic and electric guitar, devices, mandolin, pedal steel
  • Steven Gustafson- bass guitar, electric guitar
  • John Lombardo- 6 & 12 string guitars, bass guitar
  • Dennis Drew- organ, piano, accordion
  • Jerry Augustyniak- drums
  • Barry Clempson – engineer
  • Jerry Boys, Tony Harris – engineer
  • Jack Skinner  – mastering
  • 10,000 Maniacs, T + CP  – design

Track listing:

All tracks by Natalie Merchant and John Lombardo, except where noted.

  1. Can’t Ignore the Train
  2. Scorpio Rising – Robert Buck, John Lombardo, Natalie Merchant
  3. Just as the Tide Was A Flowing – Traditional
  4. Lilydale – Robert Buck, Natalie Merchant
  5. Back o’ the Moon – Dennis Drew, Natalie Merchant
  6. Maddox Table – Natalie Merchant
  7. Grey Victory – Robert Buck, John Lombardo, Natalie Merchant
  8. Among the Americans – Robert Buck, Dennis Drew, Natalie Merchant
  9. Everyone a Puzzle Lover
  10. Cotton Alley
  11. My Mother the War – Natalie Merchant, John Lombardo, Michael Walsh
  12. Tension Makes a Tangle
  13. Arbor Day – Natalie Merchant


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.