On September 20, 2004.


On September 20, 2004, “Mute” label released “Abattoir Blues / The Lyre of Orpheus”, the thirteenth Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds studio album. It was recorded March – April 2004, at “Studio Ferber” in Paris, and was produced by Nick Launay.


  • Nick Cave– vocals, piano, mixing
  • Mick Harvey– guitar, mixing
  • Conway Savage– piano
  • James Johnston– organ
  • Warren Ellis– violin, mandolin, bouzouki, flute, mixing
  • Martyn P. Casey– bass
  • Jim Sclavunos– drums , percussion
  • Thomas Wydler– drums, percussion
  • Åse Bergstrøm – backing vocals
  • Donovan Lawrence – backing vocals
  • Geo Onayomake – backing vocals
  • Lena Palmer – backing vocals
  • Stephanie Meade – backing vocals
  • Wendy Rose – backing vocals
  • Nick Launay – engineer, mixing
  • Lars Fox– digital audio editor
  • Ian Cooper – mastering
  • Tom Hingston – design, artwork
  • David Hughes – photography
  • Delphine Ciampi – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Nick Cave except where noted.

  1. Get Ready for Love – Nick Cave, Warren Ellis, Martyn P. Casey, Jim Sclavunos
  2. Cannibal’s Hymn
  3. Hiding All Away
  4. Messiah Ward
  5. There She Goes, My Beautiful World
  6. Nature Boy – Nick Cave, Warren Ellis, Martin P. Casey,Jim Sclavunos
  7. Abbatoir Blues – Nick Cave, Warren Ellis
  8. Let the Bells Ring – Nick Cave, Warren Ellis
  9. Fable of the Brown Ape
  10. The Lyre of Orpheus – Nick Cave, Warren Ellis, Martin P. Casey,Jim Sclavunos
  11. Breathless
  12. Babe, You Turn Me On
  13. Easy Money
  14. Supernaturally
  15. Spell – Nick Cave, Warren Ellis, Martin P. Casey,Jim Sclavunos
  16. Carry Me
  17. O Children

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.