On August 31, 1970.


On August 31, 1970, “Reprise” label released “Sunflower”, the 16th Beach Boys studio album. It was recorded June–October 1967, January 1969, July 1970, at “Sunset Sound Recorders”, “Gold Star Studios”, and Brian Wilson’s home studio in Los Angeles, and was produced by Brian Wilson, Carl Wilson, Al Jardine, Mike Love and Bruce Johnston.. In 1997, “Guardian” ranked “Sunflower” at number 66 on its list of the “100 Best Albums Ever”.


  • Brian Wilson– vocals, piano, bass,  Moog synthesizer
  • Carl Wilson– vocals, guitar, bass
  • Al Jardine– vocals, guitar
  • Bruce Johnston– vocals
  • Mike Love– vocals
  • Daryl Dragon– drums, tubular bell, harpsichord, piano, vibraphone
  • Igor Horeshevsky– cello
  • Michel Colombier– arranger, string arrangement
  • Stephen Desper– chief engineer, mixing
  • Ed Thrasher– art direction, inner photography
  • Ricci Martin– cover photo

Track listing:

  1. Slip On Through – Dennis Wilson
  2. This Whole World – Brian Wilson
  3. Add Some Music to Your Day – Brian Wilson, Joe Knott, Mike Love
  4. Got to Know the Woman – Dennis Wilson
  5. Deirdre – Bruce Johnston, Brian Wilson
  6. It’s About Time – Dennis Wilson, Bob Burchman, Al Jardine
  7. Tears in the Morning – Bruce Johnston
  8. All I Wanna Do – Brian Wilson, Mike Love
  9. Forever – Dennis Wilson, Gregg Jakobson
  10. Our Sweet Love – Brian Wilson, Carl Wilson, Al Jardine
  11. At My Window – Brian Wilson, Al Jardine
  12. Cool, Cool Water – Brian Wilson, Mike Love




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.