On June 27, 1974.


On June 27, 1974, “Grateful Dead Records” label released “From the  Mars Hotel”, the seventh Grateful Dead studio album. It was recorded March  – April 1,1974, at “CBS Studios” in San Francisco, and was produced by Jerry Garcia, Donna Jean Godchaux, Keith Goodchaux, Bill Kreutzmann and Bob Weir. The album cover artwork is of the “Mars Hotel”, a rundown, at 192 Fourth Street in San Francisco.


  • Jerry Garcia– vocals, lead guitar
  • Donna Jean Godchaux– vocals
  • Bob Weir– vocals, guitar
  • John McFee– pedal steel guitar
  • Keith Godchaux– vocals, keyboards
  • Ned Lagin– synthesizers
  • Phil Lesh– vocals, bass guitar
  • Bill Kreutzmann– drums
  • Phil Brown – mastering
  • Mary Ann Mayer – illustrations, creation

Track listing:

All tracks by Jerry Garcia and Robert Hunter, except where noted.

  1. S. Blues
  2. China Doll
  3. Unbroken Chain – Phil Lesh, Robert Peterson
  4. Loose Lucy
  5. Scarlet Begonias
  6. Pride of Cucamonga – Phil Lesh, Robert Peterson
  7. Money Money – John Perry Barlow, Bob Weir
  8. Ship of Fools


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.