On May 31, 1979.


On May 31, 1979, “Jet” label released “Discovery”, the eighth Electric Light Orchestra studio album. It was recorded March–April 1978, at “Musicland Studios” in Munich, and was produced by Jeff Lynne. The album was certified 2 x Platinum in the US by the “RIIA”.


  • Jeff Lynne – lead vocals, acoustic and electric guitars, piano, Yamaha CS80 synthesizer, orchestra and choral arrangements
  • Richard Tandy– piano, Yamaha CS80 synthesizer, Wurlitzer electric piano, clavinet
  • Kelly Groucutt– lead and backing vocals, bass
  • Bev Bevan– drums, percussion, Rototoms, timpani
  • Louis Clark – orchestra and choral arrangements, conductor
  • Richard Tandy – orchestra and choral arrangements

Track listing:

All tracks by Jeff Lynne,.

  1. Shine a Little Love
  2. Confusion
  3. Need Her Love
  4. The Diary of Horace Wimp
  5. Last Train to London
  6. Midnight Blue
  7. On the Run
  8. Wishing
  9. Don’t Bring Me Down

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.