On May 17, 2005.

Van Morrison_MagicTime

On May 17, 2005, “Geffen” label released “Magic Time”, the thirty-first Van Morrison studio album. It was recorded November 2000 – 2003, at “The Wool Hall” and “Windmill Lane”, and was produced by Van Morrison.


  • Van Morrison -vocals, acoustic and electric guitar, harmonica, alto saxophone
  • Mick Green- guitar
  • Foggy Lyttle- guitar
  • Michael Fields -Spanish guitar, lute
  • Martin Winning -tenor and baritone saxophones
  • Matt Holland -trumpet
  • Paddy Moloney- whistle
  • Myles Drennan -piano, Hammond organ
  • Brian Connor – piano, keyboards
  • Dave Lewis- piano
  • John Allair – Hammond organ
  • Jerome Rimson -bass, backing vocals
  • David Hayes- bass
  • Liam Bradley -drums, backing vocals
  • Noel Bridgeman, Johnathan Mele, Bobby Irwin – drums
  • Johnny Scott, Siobhan Pettit, Olwin Bell, Crawford Bell, Aine Whelan, Karen Hamill – backing vocals
  • Irish Film Orchestra -strings
  • Richard Evans – design and art direction, sleeve photographs
  • Tim Young at Metropolis Mastering, London – mastering
  • Javier Pierini / Getty images – front cover photograph

Track listing:

All tracks by Van Morrison, except where noted.

  1. Stranded
  2. Celtic New Year
  3. Keep Mediocrity at Bay
  4. Evening Train
  5. This Love of Mine – Sol Parker, Henry W. Sanicola, Frank Sinatra
  6. I’m Confessin’ – Doc Daughtery, Al Neiburg, Ellis Reynolds
  7. Just Like Greta
  8. Gypsy in My Soul
  9. Lonely and Blue – Harry Brooks, Andy Razaf, Fats Waller
  10. The Lion This Time
  11. Magic Time
  12. They Sold Me Out
  13. Carry On Regardless

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.