On May 5, 1973.

There Goes Rhymin' Simon

On May 5, 1973, “Columbia” label released “There Goes Rhymin’ Simon”, the third Paul Simon solo studio album. It was recorded September 1972 – January 1973, at “Columbia Studios” in New York City, “Malaco Recording Studios” in Jackson, Mississippi, “Muscle Shoals Sound Studio” in Sheffield, Alabama and “Morgan Studios” in London, and was produced by Paul Simon, Phil Ramone, Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section, Paul Samwell-Smith and Roy Halee.


  • Paul Simon– vocals, guitar
  • Pete Carr– acoustic and  electric guitar
  • Jimmy Johnson– electric guitar
  • Cornell Dupree– guitar
  • Alexander Gafa – guitar
  • David Spinozza– guitar
  • Jerry Puckett – guitar
  • Barry Beckett– keyboard; piano, vibraphone
  • Paul Griffin– piano
  • Bobby James– keyboard
  • Bobby Scott– piano
  • Carson Witsett – organ
  • Don Elliott– vibraphone
  • David Hood– bass guitar
  • Gordon Edwards – bass guitar
  • Bob Cranshaw– bass guitar
  • Vernie Robbins – bass guitar
  • Richard Davis– double bass
  • Roger Hawkins– drums, percussion , tambourine
  • Rick Marotta– drums
  • Grady Tate– drums
  • James Stroud– drums
  • Airto Moreira– percussion
  • The Onward Brass Band– horns
  • The Dixie Hummingbirds– group vocals
  • Claude Jeter– falsetto vocals
  • Maggie and Terre Roche– backing vocals
  • Allen Toussaint– horn arrangements
  • Quincy Jones– string arrangements
  • Del Newman – string arrangements
  • Uncredited – flute

Track listing:

Al tracks by Paul Simon.

  1. Kodachrome
  2. Tenderness
  3. Take Me to the Mardi Gras
  4. Something So Right
  5. One Man’s Ceiling Is Another Man’s Floor
  6. American Tune
  7. Was a Sunny Day
  8. Learn How to Fall
  9. Judy’s Comet
  10. Loves Me Like a Rock

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.