On April 30, 1974.


On April 30, 1974, “Shelter” label released “Okie”, the third JJ Cale album. It was recorded May 7 – December 5, 1973, at “Bradley’s Barn”, “Columbia Studio B”, “Woodland Studio B” in Nashville, and Cale’s house in Tulsa, Oklahoma, and was produced by Audie Ashworth.


  • JJ Cale – vocals, guitars
  • Jerry Smith – piano
  • Harold Bradley – rhythm guitar
  • Grady Martin – guitar
  • Tommy Cogbill – bass
  • Karl Himmel – drums
  • George Tidwell – trumpet
  • Dennis Goode – trombone
  • Billy Pruett – saxophone
  • Stan Hutto – engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by JJ Cale, except where noted.

  1. Crying
  2. I’ll Be There (If You Ever Want Me) – Rusty Gabbard, Ray Price
  3. Starbound
  4. Rock and Roll Circus
  5. The Old Man and Me
  6. Everlovin’ Woman
  7. Cajun Moon
  8. I’d Like to Love You Baby
  9. Anyway the Wind Blows
  10. Precious Memories
  11. Okie
  12. I Got the Same Old Blues

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.