On April 25, 2006.


On April 25, 2006, “Columbia” label released “We Shall Overcome: The Seeger Sessions”, the fourteenth Bruce Springsteen studio album. It was recorded 1997, 2005, 2006, and was produced by Bruce Springsteen and Jon Landau. In 2007, the album won “Grammy Award for Best Traditional Folk Album”.


  • Bruce Springsteen – lead vocals, guitar, harmonica, B-3 organ, percussion
  • Frank Bruno – guitar
  • Charles Giordano– B-3 organ, piano, accordion
  • Jeremy Chatzky – upright bass
  • Larry Eagle – drums, percussion
  • Sam Bardfeld – violin
  • Art Baron– tuba
  • Mark Clifford – banjo
  • Ed Manion– saxophone
  • Mark Pender– trumpet, backing vocals
  • Richie “La Bamba” Rosenberg– trombone, backing vocals
  • Soozie Tyrell– violin, backing vocals
  • Patti Scialfa– backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks traditional or public domain with unknown songwriters, arranged by Bruce Springsteen, except where noted.

  1. Old Dan Tucker
  2. Jesse James – Billy Gashade
  3. McGrath
  4. O Mary Don’t Know You Weep
  5. John Henry
  6. Erie Canal – Thomas S.Allen
  7. Jacob’s Ladder
  8. My Oklahoma Home – Bill and Agnes “Sis” Cunningham
  9. Eyes on the Prize – trad. additional lyrics by Alice Wine
  10. Shenandoah
  11. We Shall Overcome – Charles Tindley(lyrics); Adaptation by Guy Carawan, Frank Hamilton, Zilphia Horton, Pete Seeger
  12. Froggie Went A-Courtin


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.