On April 23, 1976.

Black and blue

On April 23, 1976, “Rolling Stones” label released “Black and Blue”, the 13th Rolling Stones album. It was recorded December 1974, January – February 1975, March – April 1975, and was produced by The Glimmer Twins. It was the band’s first studio album with Ronnie Wood as the replacement for Mick Taylor.


  • Mick Jagger– lead, backing and harmony vocals,  rhythm guitar, acoustic and electric piano, foot stomp, percussion
  • Keith Richards– electric guitars, bass guitar, Fender Rhodes electric piano, electric wah-wah guitar. backing and harmony vocals
  • Ronnie Wood– lead electric guitar; electric guitar, co-lead guitar; backing vocals
  • Bill Wyman– bass guitar, percussion
  • Charlie Watts– drums, percussion
  • Billy Preston– organ; piano; string synthesizer; harmony vocal; backing vocals; percussion
  • Nicky Hopkins– piano,  ARP String Ensemble
  • Harvey Mandel– lead electric guitar
  • Wayne Perkins– acoustic guitar, lead electric guitar
  • Ollie Brown– percussion
  • Ian Stewart– percussion
  • Arif Mardin– horn arrangements
  • Keith Harwood, Glyn Johns, Phil McDonald, Lew Hahn – engineer
  • Jeremy Gee, Dave Richards, Tapani, Steve Dowd, Gene Paul –  engineer assistant
  • Lee Hulko – LP mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Mick Jagger and Keith Richards, except where noted.

  1. Hot Stuff
  2. Hand of Fate
  3. Cherry on Baby – Eric Donaldson
  4. Memory Motel
  5. Hey Negrita – inspiration by Ron Wood
  6. Melody – Inspiration by Billy Preston
  7. Fool to Cry
  8. Crazy Mama

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.