On April 18, 2000.

Elliott Smith - Figure_8

On April 18, 2000, “DreamWorks” label released “Figure 8”, the fifth Elliott Smith studio album. It was recorded 1999 – 2000, at “Sunset Sound”, “Capitol Studios”, “Sonora Studios” and “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by  Elliott Smith, Tom Rothrock and Rob Schnapf. This is the final album Smith completed before his death.


  • Elliott Smith – vocals, guitar, piano, bass, drums, organ, chamberlin, percussion, string arrangement
  • Sam Coomes– bass guitar
  • Pete Thomas– drums
  • Joey Waronker– drums
  • Jon Brion– backing vocals
  • Suzie Katayama – string conduction, orchestration
  • Matt Dunkley – string conduction, orchestration
  • Don C. Tyler – mastering
  • Paul Hicks – engineering assistance
  • Charlie Paakkari – engineering assistance
  • Dann Thompson – engineering assistance
  • Jimmy Hoyson – engineering assistance
  • Steve Genewick – engineering assistance
  • Richard Baron – engineering assistance
  • Geoff Walcha – engineering assistance
  • Monique Mizrahi – engineering assistance
  • Autumn DeWilde – sleeve art direction, design, photography
  • Dale Smith – sleeve art direction, design

Track listing:

All tracks by Elliott Smith.

  1. Son of Sam
  2. Somebody That I Used to Know
  3. Junk Bond Trader
  4. Everything Reminds Me of Her
  5. Everything Means Nothing to Me
  6. L.A.
  7. In the Lost and Found (Honky Bach) / The Roost
  8. Stupidity Tries
  9. Easy Way Out
  10. Wouldn’t Mama Be Proud
  11. Color Bars
  12. Happiness/The Gondola Man
  13. Pretty Mary K
  14. I Better Be Quiet Now
  15. Can’t Make a Sound
  16. Bye


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.