On March 1, 1973.

John Cale Paris 1919

On March 1, 1973, “Reprise” label released “Paris 1919”, the third John Cale studio album.  It was recorded in 1972, at “Sunwest Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Chris Thomas. “The Wire” magazine placed “Paris 1919” in its list of “One Hundred Records That Set the World on Fire (While No One Was Listening)”. In 2016, ”Uncut” magazine placed the album in its list of “100 Greatest Albums of All Time”.  Stephen Holden of the magazine “Rolling Stone” wrote that “Paris 1919” is “one of the most ambitious albums ever released under the name of ‘pop’”.


  • John Cale– vocals, guitar, piano, keyboards, viola
  • Lowell George– electric & acoustic guitar
  • Wilton Felder– bass guitar, saxophone
  • Richie Hayward– drums
  • Chris Thomas– tambourine
  • The UCLA Symphony Orchestra – strings
  • Joel Druckman, Esq. – orchestra manager
  • Mike Salisbury – album design, photography
  • Matthew Specktor – liner notes

Track listing:

All tracks by John Cale.

  1. Child’s Christmas in Wales
  2. Hanky Panky Nohow
  3. The Endless Plain of Fortune
  4. Andalucia
  5. Macbeth
  6. Paris 1919
  7. Graham Greene
  8. Half Past France
  9. Antarctica Starts Here

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.