On February 25, 1973.

At the Right Place

On February 25, 1973, “Atco” label released “In the Right Place”, the sixth Dr. John studio album. It was recorded in 1972, and was produced by Allen Toussaint.


  • Dr. John (Mac Rebennack) – vocals, piano, organ, percussion
  • Allen Toussaint: piano, electric piano, acoustic guitar, conga drums, tambourine, backing vocals, vocal arrangements, arrangement, conducting.
  • Leo Nocentelli- lead guitar
  • David Spinozza: guitar
  • Art Neville– organ
  • George Porter, Jr.– bass
  • Joseph Modeliste– drums
  • Ralph MacDonald: percussion
  • Gary Brown: electric and acoustic saxophones.
  • The Bonaroo Horn Section: horns.
  • Robbie Montgomery, Jessie Smith: backing vocals.
  • James Flournoy Holmes: design, paintings.

Track listing:

All tracks by Mac Rebennack; except where noted.

  1. Right Place Wrong Time
  2. Same Old Same Old
  3. Just the Same
  4. Qualified – Jessie Hill, Mac Rebennack
  5. Traveling Mood – James Waynes
  6. Peace Brother Peace
  7. Life – Allen Toussaint
  8. Such a Night
  9. Shoo Fly Marches On
  10. I Been Hoodood
  11. Cold Cold Cold – Alvin Robinson, Jessie Hill, Mac Rebennack

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.