On October 10, 1998.


On February 10, 1998, “Merge Records” label released “In the Aeroplane Over the Sea”, the second and final Neutral Milk Hotel studio album. It was recorded from July to September 1997, at “Pet Sounds Studio” in Denver, and was produced by Robert Schneider. ”NME” magazine ranked it at number 98th on its list of the “Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Jeff Mangum– vocals, guitar, bass guitar, organ, floor tom, tape, shortwave radio, art direction
  • Jeremy Barnes– drums, organ
  • Julian Koster– Wandering Genie organ, singing saw, bowed banjo, accordion, white noise
  • Scott Spillane– trumpet, trombone, flugelhorn, euphonium, horn arrangements
  • Robert Schneider– home organ, air organ, bass, backing vocals, piano, horn arrangements
  • Laura Carter– zanzithophone
  • Rick Benjamin – trombone
  • Marisa Bissinger – saxophone, flugelhorn
  • Robert Schneider, Scott Spillane – horn arrangements
  • James Guyatt – percussion
  • Michelle Anderson – Uilleann pipes
  • Chris Bilheimer – art direction
  • Brian Dewan– illustrations

Track listing:

All tracks by Jeff Mangum, except where noted.

  1. The King of Carrot Flowers Pt. One
  2. The King of Carrot Flowers Pts. Two & Three – Jeremy Barnes, Julian Koster, Jeff Mangum, Scott Spillane
  3. In the Aeroplane Over the Sea
  4. Two-Headed Boy
  5. The Fool – Scott Spillane, Robert Schneider
  6. Holland, 1945
  7. Communist Daughter
  8. Oh Comely
  9. Ghost
  10. Untitled
  11. Two-Headed Boy Pt. Two

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.