On February 10, 1997.


On February 10, 1997, “Setanta” label released “A Short Album about Love”, the fifth Divine Comedy album. It was recorded in October 1996 at the “Shepherd’s Bush Empire” in London.


  • Neil Hannon – vocals, guitar
  • Ivor Talbot – guitar
  • Bryan Mills – bass guitar
  • Joby Talbot – piano, orchestral arrangements
  • Stuart “Pinkie” Bates – Hammond organ
  • Miguel Barradas – drums

The Brunel Ensemble:

  • Simon Baggs – violin, orchestra leader
  • Lisa Betteridge, Kate Birchall, Krista Juanita Caspersz, Emily Davis, Benjamin Harte, Mary Martin, Timothy Myall, Benjamin Nabarro, Juliet Warden – violins
  • Yannick Dondelinger, Zoe Lake, Jong On Lau, John Murphy – violas
  • Betsy Taylor, Robbie Jacobs, Douncan Moulton – celli
  • Peter Devlin, Philip Dawson – double bass
  • Max Spiers – oboe
  • Charlotte Glasson – saxophone, flute
  • Matthew Gunner – horn
  • Simon Jones – trumpet
  • Adam Howard – trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Jane Butterfield – trombone
  • Robert Farrer – percussion
  • Christopher Austin – conductor

Track listing:

All tracks by Neil Hannon except where noted.

  1. In Pursuit of Happiness
  2. Everybody Knows (Except You)
  3. Someone
  4. If…
  5. If I Were You (I’d Be Through with Me)
  6. Timewatching
  7. I’m All You Need
  8. Motorway to Damascus
  9. Love Is Lighter Than Air – Stephin Merritt
  10. Birds of Paradise Farm
  11. Make It Easy on Yourself – Burt Bacharach, Hal David



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.