On January 3, 1971.


On January 3, 1971, “Island” label released “McDonald and Giles”, album by Ian McDonald and Michael Giles. It was recorded May – July, 1970, at the  “Island Studios”, and was produced by Ian McDonald and Michael Giles.


  • Ian McDonald – vocals, guitar, piano, organ, saxes, flute, clarinet, zither, sundries
  • Steve Winwood– organ, piano
  • Peter Giles– bass guitar
  • Michael Giles – vocals, drums, percussion
  • Michael Blakesley – trombone
  • Mike Gray – strings and brass arrangements

Track listing:

  1. Suite in C- Ian McDonald
  • Turnham Green
  • Here I Am
  • And many more
  1. Flight of the Ibis – music by Ian McDonald, lyrics by BP Fallon
  2. Is She Waiting? – Ian McDonald
  3. Tomorrow’s People – The Children of Today – Michael Giles
  4. Birdman – music by Ian McDonald, lyrics by Peter Sinfield
  • The Inventor’s Dream (O.U.A.T.)
  • The Workshop
  • Wishbone Ascension
  • Birdman Flies!
  • Wings in the Sunset
  • Birdman – The Reflection



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.