On December 10, 1974.


On December 10, 1976, “EMI” label released “A Day at the Races”, the fifth Queen studio album.  It was recorded at the “Sarm East”, “The Manor” and “Wessex Studios”, and was produced by Qyeen. This was  the second band’s album that took  its name from  Marx Brothers movie (the previous was “A Night at the Opera). In 2006, in “BBC” pool “A Day at the Races” was voted the 67th greatest album of all time. The album was certified Platinum in Canada by “Music Canada”; Platinum in Poland by “ZPAV”, and Platinum in the US by the “RIIA”.


  • Freddie Mercury- lead and backing vocals, piano
  • Brian May- electric, slide and acoustic guitars, backing vocals, lead vocals, plastic piano and harmonium
  • Roger Taylor- drums, percussion, backing vocals, timpani, lead vocals and rhythm guitar, gong
  • John Deacon- bass guitar, acoustic guitar

Track listing:

  1. Tie Your Mother Down – Brian May
  2. You Take My Breath Away – Freddie Mercury
  3. Long Away – Brian May
  4. The Millionaire Waltz – Freddie Mercury
  5. You and I – John Deacon
  6. Somebody to Love – Freddie Mercury
  7. White Man – Brian May
  8. Good Old Fashioned Lover Boy – Freddie Mercury
  9. Drowse – Roger Taylor
  10. Teo Torriatte – Brian May

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.