On December 2, 1968.


On December 2, 1968, “Bizarre  and “Verve” labels released “Cruising with Ruben & the Jets”, the fourth Mothers of Invention studio album. It is part of Mothers project named “No Commercial potential” which featured three albums: “Uncle Meat”, We’re in it Only for the Money” and “Lumpy Gravy”. “Cruising with Ruben & the Jets” is concept album, based on 50’s doo wop and rock and roll and story about fictitious band named Ruben & the Jets. The album was recorded December 1967 – February 1968, at the “Apostolic Studios” in New York, and was produced by Frank Zappa.


  • Frank Zappa– low grumbles, oo-wah and lead guitar, bass, piano, drums
  • Roy Estrada– high weazlings, dwaedy-doop and electric bass
  • Jimmy Carl Blackand/or Arthur Dyer Tripp III – lewd pulsating rhythm
  • Ian Underwoodor and Don Preston – redundant piano triplets
  • Motorhead Sherwood– baritone sax, tambourine
  • Bunk Gardner, Ian Underwood – alto and tenor saxophone
  • Ray Collins– lead vocals
  • Cal Schenkel – artwork, cover art

Track listing:

All tracks by Frank Zappa, except where noted.

  1. Cheap Thrills
  2. Love of My Life – Frank Zappa and Ray Collins
  3. How Could I Be Such a Fool
  4. Deseri – Ray Collins and Paul Buff
  5. I’m Not Satisfied
  6. Jerry Roll Gum Drop
  7. Anything – Ray Collins
  8. Later That Night
  9. You Didn’t Try to Call Me
  10. Fountain of Love – Frank Zappa and Ray Collins
  11. No. No.
  12. Anyway the Wind Blows
  13. Stuff Up the Cracks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.