On November 18, 1974.


On November 18, 1974, “Charisma” label released “The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway”, the sixth Genesis studio album. It was band’s last studio album  with Peter Gabriel and was recorded August – October 1974, at the “Island Mobile Studios” in Wales, and was produced by John Burns, Peter Gabriel, Tony Banks, Phil Collins, Steve Hackett and Mike Rutherford. “The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway” was ranked at number 9 on the “Rolling Stone” magazine list of “50 Greatest Prog Rock Albums of All Time”. The album was deemed one of the 23 “Maddest and Most Memorable Concept Albums” by “NME”.


  • Peter Gabriel – lead vocals, flute, oboe, tambourine, experiments with foreign sounds
  • Tony Banks – piano, Hammond organ, Electra piano, Mellotron , synthesizers
  • Steve Hackett – guitars
  • Mike Rutherford – bass
  • Phil Collins – drums, percussion, vibraphone, backing vocals
  • Brian Eno – enossification (vocal treatments)

Track listing

All tracks by Tony Banks, Phil Collins, Peter Gabriel, Steve Hackett and Mike Rutherford.

  1. The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway
  2. Fly on a Windshield
  3. Broadway Melody of 1974
  4. Cuckoo Cocoon
  5. In the Cage
  6. The Grand Parade of Lifeless Packaging
  7. Back in N.Y.C.
  8. Hairless Heart
  9. Counting Out Time
  10. The Carpet Crawlers
  11. The Chamber of 32 Doors
  12. Lilywhite Lillith
  13. The Waiting Room
  14. Anyway
  15. Here Comes the Supernatural Anesthetist
  16. The Lamia
  17. Silent Sorrow in Empty Books
  18. The Colony of Slipperman
  • The Arrival
  • A visit to the Doktor
  • The Raven
  1. Ravine
  2. The Light Dies Down on Broadway
  3. Riding the Scree
  4. In the Rapids
  5. It

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.