On August 18, 1976.

Man in the hills

On August 18, 1976, “Island” label released “Man in the Hills”, the fourth Burning Spear album. It was recorded in 1976, at “Randy’s Recording Studio” and “Harry J’s Recording Studio” in Kingston,  and was produced by Jack Ruby.


  • Winston Rodney– lead vocals, percussion
  • Earl “Chinna” Smith– lead and rhythm guitar
  • Tony Chin– rhythm guitar
  • Bernard “Touter” Harvey– keyboards
  • Earl “Wire” Lindo– keyboards
  • Tyrone “Organ D” Downie– keyboards
  • Robbie Shakespeare– bass
  • Aston “Family Man” Barrett– bass
  • Leroy “Horsemouth” Wallace– drums
  • Richard “Dirty Harry” Hall– tenor saxophone
  • Herman Marquis– alto saxophone
  • Bobby Ellis– trumpet
  • Vincent “Trommie” Gordon– trombone
  • Delroy Hines– harmony vocals
  • Rupert Willington– harmony vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Winston Rodney, except where noted.

  1. Man in the Hills
  2. It’s Good – Fullwood, Winston Rodney
  3. No More War
  4. Black Soul
  5. Lion
  6. People Get Ready
  7. Children
  8. Mother
  9. Door Peep
  10. Groovy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.