On May 14, 1991.


On May 14, 1991, “Interscope” label released “Sailing the Seas of Cheese”, the second Primus studio album. It was recorded August 1990 – February 1991, at “Fantasy Studios” in Berkeley, and was produced by Les Claypool, Larry LaLonde and Tim Alexander.


  • Les Claypool– vocals, electric bass, string bass, six-string fretless bass, clarinet
  • Larry LaLonde– electric guitar, six-string banjo
  • Todd Huth – guitar
  • Butthouse, Adam Gates – bass
  • MIRV Haggard, Todd Huth, Derek Greenberg, Matt Winegar, Ler – guitars
  • Matt Winegar – accordion
  • Tim “Herb” Alexander– drums, water jug
  • Brain Mantia, Mike Bordin, Herb – drums
  • Jay Lane– drums
  • Mike Bordin – two-skinned foreskin drum
  • Tom Waits– voice
  • Adam Gates, Puffster, Herb, Ler, Les – vocals
  • Adam Gates– additional fisherman
  • Lance Link – additional fisherman
  • Trouz – whistle
  • Ron Rigler – engineer
  • Chris Bellman – mastering
  • Paul Haggard – jacket design, photography
  • Mark Kohr – cheese coordinator, scenery
  • Mitch Romanowski – ship (sculpture)
  • Snap – airbrushing
  • Michael Lavine – band photography

Track listing:

All lyrics by Les Claypool, all music by Les Claypool, Larry LaLonde and Tim Alexander.

  1. Seas of Cheese
  2. Here Come the Bastard
  3. Baker
  4. American Life
  5. Jerry Was a Race Car Driver
  6. Eleven
  7. Is It Luck?
  8. Grandad’s Little Dirty
  9. Tommy the Cat
  10. Sathington Waltz
  11. Those Damned Blue-Collar Tweekers
  12. Fish On (Fisherman Chronicles, Chapter II)
  13. Los Bastardos

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.