Tag Archives: Altered Beast IV

On June 23, 2017.

On June 23, 2017, “Flightless” label released “Murder of the Universe”, the tenth King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard studio album. It was recorded in 2017, at “Flightless HQ”, and was produced by Stu Mackenzie,


  • Stu Mackenzie – vocals, Hagström F12guitar, Roland Juno-60 synthesizer, Yamaha DX-7 synthesizer, Mellotron flute, Mellotron choir, Yamaha Reface YC organ, Fender Mustang bass, Natural Reader UK Charles, recording
  • Michael Cavanagh – ’62 Maxwin drum kit, ’61 Yamaha Tiger Red Swirl kit
  • Joey Walker – Yamaha SG-3 guitar, Yamaha Reface YC organ, Roland JX-3Psynthesizer, Roland Juno-60 synthesizer
  • Ambrose Kenny-Smith – Hohner Special 20 harmonica, Yamaha Reface YC organ
  • Cook Craig – Rickenbacker620 guitar
  • Lucas Skinner – Fender Mustang bass
  • Leah Senior – spoken word
  • Casey Hartnett, Joey Walker – recording
  • Michael Badger – recording, mixing
  • Joe Carra – mastering
  • Jason Galea – artwork

Track listing:

All music by Stu Mackenzie, Joey Walker, Ambrose Kenny-Smith, Cook Craig and Lucas Skinner;  all lyrics by Stu Mackenzie; stories written by Stu Mackenzie, except “Murder of the Universe” by Joey Walker and Stu Mackenzie.

Chapter 1: The Tale of the Altered Beast

  1. A New World
  2. Altered Beast I
  3. After Me I
  4. Altered Beast II
  5. After Me II
  6. Altered Beast III
  7. After Me III
  8. Altered Beast IV
  9. Life / Death

Chapter 2: The Lord of Lightning vs. Balrog

  1. Some Context
  2. The Reticent Raconteur
  3. The Lord of Lightning
  4. The Balrog
  5. The Floating Fire
  6. The Acrid Corpse

Chapter 3: Han-Tyumi and the Murder of the Universe

  1. Welcome to an Altered Future
  2. Digital Black
  3. Han-Tyumi, the Confused Cyborg
  4. Soy-Protein Munt Machine
  5. Vomit Coffin
  6. Murder of the Universe