Donald Byrd: Blackjack

In March 1968, “Blue Note” label released “Blackjack”, the 28th Donald Byrd album. It was recorded in January 1967, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Donald Byrd – trumpet
  • Sonny Red – alto saxophone
  • Hank Mobley – tenor saxophone
  • Cedar Walton – piano
  • Walter Booker – bass
  • Billy Higgins – drums

Track listing:

All tracks Donald Byrd except where noted.

  1. Blackjack
  2. West of Pecos – Sonny Red
  3. Loki – Sonny Red
  4. Eldorado – Mitch Farber
  5. Beale Street – Sonny Red
  6. Pentatonic

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.