Nina Simone: Silk & Soul

In October 1967, “RCA Victor” label released “Silk & Soul”, the thirteenth Nina Simone studio album. It was recorded in 1967, at “RCA Studio B” in New York City, and was produced by Danny Davis.


  • Nina Simone – vocals, piano
  • Eric Gale – guitar  
  • Rudy Stevenson – guitar
  • Ernie Hayes – piano, harpsichord
  • Gene Taylor – bass
  • Bernard Purdie – drums
  • Sammy Lowe – arrangements, conductor
  • Ray Hall – engineer

Track listing:

  1. It Be’s That Way Sometime – Sam Waymon
  2. The Look of Love – Burt Bacharach, Hal David
  3. Go to Hell – Morris Balley Jr.
  4. Love o’ Love – Andy Stroud
  5. Cherish – Terry Kirkman
  6. I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel to Be Free – Billy Taylor
  7. Turn Me On – John D. Loudermilk
  8. Turning Point – Martha Holmes
  9. Some Say – Charles Reuben
  10. Consummation – Nina Simone

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.