In September 1969.

In September 1969, “Decca” label released “A Step Further”, the fourth Savoy Brown album. It was recorded in 1969 (track Savoy Brown Boogie was recorded live at “The Cooks Ferry Inn” in Edmonton, London, and was produced by Mike Vernon.


  • Chris Youlden – vocals
  • Kim Simmonds – guitar
  • Lonesome Dave – guitar
  • Bob Hall – piano
  • Tony Stevens – bass
  • Roger Earl – drums
  • Terry Noonan – arrangements
  • Mike Vernon – liner notes
  • Dave Grinsted – engineer
  • Colin Freeman, John Punter, Mike Mailes – assistant engineers
  • Terence Ibbott – photography

Track listing:

  1. Made Up My Mind – Chris Youlden
  2. Waiting in the Bamboo Grove – Kim Simmonds
  3. Life’s One Act Play – Chris Youlden
  4. I’m Tired – Chris Youlden
  5. Where Am I – Chris Youlden
  6. Savoy Brown Boogie – Kim Simmonds, Chris Youlden


  • Feel So Good – Chuck Willis
  • Whole Lotta Shakin’ Goin On – Sunny David, Dave Williams
  • Little Queenie – Chuck Berry
  • Purple Haze – Jimi Hendrix
  • Hernando’s Hideaway – Richard Adler, Jerry Ross

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.