on january 22, 2002.

On January 22, 2002, “High Note” label released “Davey Blue”, the 31st David “Fathead” Newman album. . It was recorded in May 2001, at “M&I Recording Studios” in New York City, and was produced by David “Fathead” Newman, Houston Person.


  • David “Fathead” Newman – alto and tenor saxophone, flute
  • Cedar Walton – piano
  • Bryan Carrott – vibraphone
  • David Williams – bass
  • Kenny Washington – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by David “Fathead” Newman except where noted

  1. Cellar Groove – Norris Austin
  2. Cristo Redentor – Duke Pearson
  3. For Stanley
  4. A Child Is Born – Thad Jones
  5. Black – Cedar Walton
  6. Amandla
  7. Davey Blue
  8. Freedom Jazz Dance – Eddie Harris

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.