In October 1968.

In October 1968, “ABC Dunhill” label released “The Second”, the second Steppenwolf studio album. It was recorded in 1968, at “American Recording Co” in Studio City, in CA, and was produced by Gabriel Merker.


  • John Kay – lead vocals, rhythm guitar, harmonica
  • Michael Monarch – lead guitar
  • Goldy McJohn – organ, piano
  • Rushton Moreve – bass
  • Jerry Edmonton – vocals, drums
  • Bill Cooper – engineer
  • Richard Podolor – engineer
  • Gary Burden – art direction, cover design
  • Henry Diltz – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by John Kay, except where noted.

  1. Faster Than the Speed of Life – Dennis Edmonton
  2. Tighten Up Your Wig
  3. None of Your Doing – John Kay, Gabriel Mekler
  4. Spiritual Fantasy
  5. Don’t Step on the Grass, Sam
  6. 28 – Gabriel Mekler
  7. Magic Carpet Ride – John Kay, Rushton Moreve
  8. Disappointment Number
  9. Lost and Found by Trial and Error
  10. Hodge, Podge, Strained Through a Leslie
  11. Resurrection
  12. Reflections – John Kay, Gabriel Mekler

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.