On October 29, 2002.

On October 29, 2002, “Milestone” label released “McGriff Avenue”, the 61st Jimmy McGriff album. It was recorded in October 2001, at “Van Gelder Studio”, in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, and was produced by Bob Porter.


  • Jimmy McGriff – Hammond X-B3 organ
  • Gordon Beadle, Bill Easley – tenor saxophone
  • Ronnie Cuber – baritone saxophone
  • Rodney Jones, Melvin Sparks-Hassan – guitar
  • Wilbur Bascomb – bass
  • Bernard Purdie, Don Williams − drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Rodney Jones except where noted..

  1. All About My Girl – Jimmy McGriff
  2. McGriff Avenue
  3. Soul Street – Jimmy Forrest
  4. The Answer Is in the Blues
  5. The Great Unknown – Jimmy McGriff, Ronnie Cuber
  6. Dissertation on the Blues
  7. The Worm – Jimmy McGriff, Sonny Lester, Fats Theus
  8. America the Beautiful – Samuel A. Ward, Katharine Lee Bates

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.