On August 21, 2017.

On August 21, 2017, “Last Gang Records” label released “Challengers”, the fourth New Pornographers studio album. It was recorded 2006 – 2007, at “The Seaside Lounge” in Brooklyn, New York, and was produced by Phil Palazzolo, John Collins, and A. C. Newman.


  • C.Newman– vocals, guitar, piano, Wurlitzer, Casio, mandolin, percussion, bass melodion, bass
  • Blaine Thurier– Fender Rhodes, sampler
  • Dan Bejar– vocals, shakers, guitar, piano
  • John Collins– bass, baritone guitar, glockenspiel, mandolin, guitars, Casio, tambourine
  • Kathryn Calder– vocals, piano, Wurlitzer
  • Kurt Dahle– vocals, drums, percussion
  • Neko Case– vocals
  • Todd Fancey– guitars, banjo, mandolin
  • Alan Hampton – double bass
  • Benjamin D. Calb – cello
  • Brendan Ryan – accordion, French horn, trumpet
  • Eileen Gannon – harp
  • Leslie Kubicka – flute, piccolo
  • Marla Hansen – viola
  • Olivier Manchon – violin
  • Tara Szczygielski – violin
  • Phil Palazzolo – guitar
  • Howard Redekopp- mixing

Track listing:

All tracks by A. C. Newman, except where noted.

  1. My Rights Versus Yours
  2. All the Old Showstoppers
  3. Challengers
  4. Myriad Harbour – Dan Bejar
  5. All the Things That Go to Make Heaven and Earth
  6. Failsafe
  7. Unguided
  8. Entering White Cecilia – Dan Bejar
  9. Go Places
  10. Mutiny, I Promise You
  11. Adventures in Solitude
  12. The Spirit of Giving – Dan Bejar



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.