In June 1956.

In June 1956, “Atlantic” label released “The Boss of the Blues”, the fourth Big Joe Turner album. It was recorded in 1956 and was produced by Nesuhi Ertegun and Jerry Wexler.


  • Big Joe Turner– vocals
  • Walter Page– double bass
  • Lawrence Brown– trombone
  • Pete Brown– alto saxophone
  • Freddie Green– guitar
  • Pete Johnson– piano
  • Cliff Leeman– drums
  • Joe Newman– trumpet
  • Jimmy Nottingham– trumpet
  • Seldon Powell– tenor saxophone
  • Frank Wess– tenor saxophone
  • Ernie Wilkins– arrangements
  • Nesuhi Ertegun– supervision
  • Jerry Wexler– supervision
  • Len Frank – engineering
  • Whitney Balliett– liner notes
  • Bob Defrin – art direction, design
  • Marvin Israel – artwork
  • Curtice Taylor – hand coloring

Track listing:

All tracks by Pete Johnson and Big Joe Turner, except where noted.

  1. Cherry Red
  2. Roll ‘Em Pete
  3. I Want a Little Girl – Murray Mencher, Billy Moll
  4. Low Down Dog – Big Joe Turner
  5. Wee Baby Blues
  6. You’re Driving Me Crazy (What Did I Do?) – Walter Donaldson
  7. How Long Blues – traditional
  8. Morning Glories – traditional
  9. Louis Blues – W. C. Handy
  10. Piney Brown Blues


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.