In May 1961.

In May 1961, “Blue Note” label released “Shades of Redd”, the fifth Freddie Redd album. It was recorded in August 1960, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Freddie Redd– piano
  • Jackie McLean- alto saxophone
  • Tina Brooks- tenor saxophone
  • Paul Chambers- bass
  • Louis Hayes- drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Freddie Redd

  1. The Thespian
  2. Blues, Blues, Blues
  3. Shadows
  4. Melanie
  5. Swift
  6. Just a Ballad for My Baby
  7. Olé

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.