On May 20, 2008.

On May 20, 2008, “Heads Up” label released “Esperanza”, the second Esperanza Spalding studio album. It was recorded in 2007, at “Wellspring Sound” in Acton, Massachusetts, “Big Time Audio” in Jonesborough, Tennessee, and was produced by Esperanza Spalding, Martin Walters, Niño Josele and Daniel Florestano.


  • Esperanza Spalding – vocals, acoustic and electric bass
  • Leo Genovese- piano, Wurlitzer electric piano, Fender Rhodes piano
  • Jamey Haddad- percussion
  • Otis Brown – drums
  • Horacio Hernandez- drums
  • Ambrose Akinmusire- trumpet
  • Donald Harrison- saxophone
  • Gretchen Parlato- background vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Esperanza Spalding, except where noted.

  1. Ponta de Areia – Milton Nascimento, Fernando Brant
  2. I Know You Know
  3. Fall In
  4. I Adore You
  5. Cuerpo y Alma (Body & Soul) – Edward Heyman, Robert Sour
  6. She Got to You
  7. Precious
  8. Mela
  9. Love in Time
  10. Espera
  11. If That’s True
  12. Samba em Preludio – Vinícius de Moraes, Baden Powell

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.