On September 13, 2011.

On September 13, 2011, “Proper” label released “The Old Magic”, the thirteen Nick Lowe studio album. It was recorded in 2011, and was produced by Nick Lowe. Neil Brockbank and Robert Treherne.


  • Nick Lowe- rhythm guitar
  • Robert Treherne – drums
  • Geraint Watkins- organ, piano
  • Steve Donnelly – lead guitar
  • Neil Brockbank – vibraphone, mixing
  • Johnny Scott – guitar
  • Matt Radford – double bass
  • Paul Carrack- backing vocals
  • Anna Harvey – backing vocals
  • Matt Holland – trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Bob Loveday – violin, viola, recorder
  • Rory McLeod – bass harmonica
  • Nick Payne- baritone saxophone
  • Ron Sexsmith- backing vocals
  • Kate St. John – string synthesizer
  • Linnea Svensson – backing vocals
  • Jimmie Vaughan – guitar
  • Annie Whitehead– trombone
  • Martin Winning – tenor saxophone
  • Norman Bergen- the gift of the string chart

Track listing:

All tracks by Nick Lowe except where noted.

  1. Stoplight Roses
  2. Checkout Time
  3. House for Sale
  4. Sensitive Man
  5. I Read a Lot
  6. Shame on the Rain – Tom T. Hall
  7. Restless Feeling
  8. The Poisoned Rose – Elvis Costello
  9. Somebody Cares for Me- Nick Lowe, Geraint Watkins
  10. You Don’t Know Me at All – Jeff West
  11. ‘Til the Real Thing Comes Along

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.