On November 5, 2007.

On November 5, 2007, “Floor Records” label released “The Wombats Proudly Present… A Guide to Love, Loss & Desperation”, the debut Wombats studio album. It was recorded in 2007, at “Rockfield Studios” in Monmouth, Wales, “Electric Lady Studios” in New York City, “Brick Lane” and “RAK Studios” in London, and was produced by  Stephen Harris, Jimmy Robertson, Matthew Murphy, Dan Haggis and Tord Øverland-Knudsen.


  • Matthew Murphy– vocals, guitar, synthesizers, piano
  • Dan Haggis – backing vocals, drums, synthesizers, piano, stylophone, harmonica, melodica
  • Tord Øverland-Knudsen – backing vocals, bass, synthesizers, cello
  • Llangattock Primary School – kids choir
  • Ian McNabb – banjo

Track listing:

All lyrics by Matthew Murphy, except where noted; all music by , Matthew Murphy, Dan Haggis and Tord Øverland-Knudsen. except where noted.

Track listing:

  1. Tales of Girls, Boys & Marsupials – lyrics by Matthew Murphy, Dan Haggis, Tord Øverland-Knudsen
  2. Kill the Director
  3. Moving to New York
  4. Lost in the Post
  5. Party in a Forest (Where’s Laura?)
  6. School Uniforms
  7. Here Comes the Anxiety
  8. Let’s Dance to Joy Division
  9. Backfire at the Disco
  10. Little Miss Pipedream
  11. Suzanne Mattox PhD (includes elements from the chorus of Help Me, Rhonda, by the Beach Boys)
  12. Patricia the Stripper
  13. My First Wedding ( includes the hidden track Tales of Girls, Boys and Marsupials, piano instrumentation version)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.