On July 1, 2016.

On July 1, 2016, “Cooking Vinyl” label released “Modern Synthesis”, the second Area studio album. It was recorded April 2015 – January 2016, at “Room4 Studios” in Bristol, UK, and was produced by Tom Clarke.


Sparkles – vocals; guitar; Piano; synthesizer, sleeve and booklet design; photography

  • Alex Parvis – guitar, guitar, vocals
  • Jonathan Kogan – bass guitar, vocals, guitar
  • Leo Taylor – percussion, guitar, vocals
  • Connie McGuinness Griffiths, Megan Paschke – vocals
  • Sparkles, Leo Taylor – engineering
  • Phil Davies – additional engineering
  • Sparkles, Phil Davies – mixing
  • Tom Woodhead – mastering
  • Daniel Houlb, Adam Davis – artwork

Track listing:

  1. Override (B) – Sparkles
  2. Override (C) – Sparkles, Jonathan Kogan
  3. The Contract – Sparkles, Jonathan Kogan
  4. Watchmaker – Sparkles, Jonathan Kogan
  5. Versus – Sparkles
  6. Processor – Sparkles, Jonathan Kogan
  7. Red Queen – Jonathan Kogan, Sparkles, Alex Parvis, Leo Taylor
  8. Angel Lust – Sparkles
  9. The Life of a Ghost – Leo Taylor, Sparkles, Jonathan Kogan
  10. After the Flags – Sparkles, Jonathan Kogan
  11. Nebula – Sparkles, Jonathan Kogan
  12. Panacea and the Prelogue – Sparkles, Jonathan Kogan, Leo Taylor



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.