On August 1973.

In August 1973, “Elektra” label released “Valley Hi”, the fifth Ian Matthews album. It was recorded in 1973, and was produced by Michael Nesmith.


  • Ian Matthews- guitar, vocals
  • Michael Nesmith- guitar
  • Red Rhodes- steel guitar
  • Byron Berline- fiddle, violin
  • David Barry- keyboards
  • Billy Graham- bass, fiddle
  • Danny Lane- drums
  • Robert Warford- guitar
  • Jay Lacy– guitar
  • Recording engineer: Terry Dunavan, Fritz Richmond
  • Art direction: Robert Heimall
  • Photography, cover art: Paul Slaughter, Bruce Atkins

Track listing:

  1. Keep On Sailing – Ian Matthews
  2. Old Man at the Mill – traditional
  3. Shady Lies – Richard Thompson
  4. These Days – Jackson Browne
  5. Leaving Alone – Ian Matthews
  6. Seven Bridges Road – Steve Young
  7. Save Your Sorrows -Ian Matthews
  8. What Are You Waiting For – Randy Newman
  9. Propinquity – Michael Nesmith
  10. Blue Blue Day – Don Gibson



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.