On June 24, 2003.

On June 24, 2003, “Gold Standard Laboratories” label released “De-Loused in the Comatorium”, the debut Mars Volta studio album. It was recorded 2002–2003 at “The Mansion” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Rick Rubin and Omar Rodríguez-López.


  • Cedric Bixler-Zavala– vocals
  • Isaiah “Ikey” Owens– keyboards
  • Omar Rodríguez-López– guitar, bass
  • Flea– bass
  • Justin Meldal-Johnsen– stand-up bass
  • Jon Theodore– drums
  • Lenny Castro– percussion
  • John Frusciante– additional guitar, synthesizer treatment
  • Jeremy Michael Ward– effects, sound manipulation
  • Dave Schiffman – recording
  • Andrew Scheps- additional recording
  • Phillip Groussard – engineer assistant, recording
  • Darren Mora – engineer assistant
  • Rich Costey- mixing
  • Jason Lader- mixing
  • Vlado Meller – mastering
  • Pete Lyman – mastering
  • Steve Kadison – mastering assistant
  • Storm Thorgerson- cover design, art direction
  • Peter Curzon – cover design, graphics
  • Dan Abbott – illustrations
  • Lindsay Chase – album production coordination
  • Rupert Truman – photography

Track listing:

All lyrics by Cedric Bixler-Zavala and Jeremy Michael Ward; all music by Omar Rodríguez-López, except where noted.

  1. Son et lumière
  2. Inertiatic ESP
  3. Roulette Dares (The Haunt Of)
  4. Tira me a las arañas
  5. Drunkship of Lanterns
  6. Eriatarka
  7. Cicatriz ESP
  8. This Apparatus Must Be Unearthed – Omar Rodríguez-López, Cedric Bixler-Zavala
  9. Televators
  10. Take the Veil Cerpin Taxt

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.