In May 1972.

In May 1971, “Columbia” label released “Man in Black”, the 38th Johnny Cash album. It was recorded in 1971, and was produced Johnny Cash. The album’s name eventually became Cash’s nickname, given to him by the public.


  • Johnny Cash – vocals, guitar
  • Norman Blake– acoustic guitar
  • Carl Perkins– electric guitar
  • Bob Wootton– electric guitar
  • Jerry Shook – rhythm guitar
  • June Carter Cash– vocals
  • Billy Graham– vocals
  • Marshall Grant– bass guitar
  • S. Holland– drums
  • Farrell Morris – percussion

Track listing:

  1. The Preacher Said Jesus Said – Johnny Cash
  2. The Preacher Said Jesus Said – Dick Feller
  3. You’ve Got a New Light Shining in Your Eyes – Johnny Cash
  4. If Not for Love – Glenn D. Tubb, Larry Lee
  5. Man in Black – Johnny Cash
  6. Singin’ in Vietnam Talkin’ Blues – Johnny Cash
  7. Ned Kelly – Johnny Cash
  8. Look at Me – Glen Sherley, Harlan Sanders
  9. Dear Mrs. – Johnny Cash, Andrew J. Arnette
  10. I Talk to Jesus Every Day – Tubb

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.