On May 1, 1988.


On May 1, 1988, “RCA” label released “The First of a Million Kisses”, the debut Fairground Attraction album. It was recorded in 1988, and was produced by Eddi Reader, Mark E. Nevin, Simon Edwards, Ray Dodds and Kevin Maloney. In 1989, “The First of a Million Kisses”, won the award for best album at the “Brit Awards” and was certified Platinum in UK by the “BPI”.


  • Eddi Reader- lead vocals
  • Mark E. Nevin- guitar
  • Simon Edwards- guitar
  • Kim Burton -accordion, tiny harp, piano
  • Ray Dodds- drums, percussion
  • Roger Beaujolais -vibes, glockenspiel
  • Anthony Thistlethwaite- mandolin
  • Steve Forster – mandolin
  • Will Hasty -clarinet
  • Ian Shaw – backing vocals
  • Elliot Erwitt – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Mark E. Nevin, except where noted.

  1. A Smile in a Whisper
  2. Perfect
  3. Moon on the Rain
  4. Find My Love
  5. Fairground Attraction
  6. The Wind Knows My Name
  7. Clare
  8. Comedy Waltz
  9. The Moon Is Mine
  10. Station Street
  11. Whispers – Eddie Reader
  12. Allelujah

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.