On April 15, 1976.


On April 15, 1976, “Charisma” label released “Still Life”, album by Van der Graaf Generator. It was recorded 12-25 January 1976, at “Rockfield Studios”, except tracks “Pilgrims” and “La Rossa”, recorded in June 1975, and was produced by Van der Graaf Generator. The album cover features a Lichtenberg figure, a frozen-in-action shot of an electrical discharge from a real Van de Graaff generator machine, set in acrylic.


  • Peter Hammill– vocals, guitar, piano
  • David Jackson– saxophone, flute
  • Hugh Banton– organ, bass, mellotron, piano
  • Guy Evans– drums, percussion
  • Engineered and mixed by Pat Moran 

Track listing:

All tracks by Peter Hammill, except where noted.

  1. Pilgrims – Peter Hammill,David Jackson
  2. Still Life
  3. La Rossa
  4. My Room (Waiting for Wonderland)
  5. Childlike Faith in Childhood’s End



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.