On April 4, 1972.


On April 4, 1972, “London” label released “Rio Grande Mud”, the second ZZ Top album. It was recorded 1971–1972, at “Robin Hood Studios” in Tyler, Texas, and was produced by Bill Ham.


  • Billy Gibbons – vocals, guitar
  • Dusty Hill – bass guitar, keyboards, backing vocals
  • Frank Beard– drums, percussion
  • Pete Tickle – acoustic guitar
  • Robin Brian – engineer

Track listing:

  1. Francine – Billy Gibbons, Marty Cordray
  2. Just Got Paid – Billy Gibbons, Bill Ham
  3. Mushmouth Shoutin’ – Billy Gibbons, Bill Ham
  4. Ko Ko Blue – Billy Gibbons, Dusty Hill, Frank Beard
  5. Chevrolet – Billy Gibbons
  6. Apologies to Pearly – Billy Gibbons, Dusty Hill, Beard, Bill Ham
  7. Bar-B-Q – Billy Gibbons, Bill Ham
  8. Sure Got Cold After the Rain Fell – Billy Gibbons
  9. Whiskey’n Mama – Billy Gibbons, Dusty Hill, Frank Beard, Bill Ham
  10. Down Brownie – Billy Gibbons



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.