Mott the Hoople: The Hoople


On March 29, 1974, “CBS” label released “The Hoople”, the seventh and the last Mott the Hoople album. It was recorded January – February 1974, at “Advision Studios” and  “AIR Studios” in London,  and was produced by Dale “Buffin” Griffin, Ian Hunter and Pete “Overend” Watts. The album cover features a portrait of Kari-Ann Muller (also on the cover of Roxy Music’s 1972 debut album).


  • Ian Hunter– lead vocals, rhythm guitar, piano
  • Ariel Bender– vocals, lead and slide guitar
  • Morgan Fisher– keyboards, synthesizer
  • Pete Overend Watts– vocals, bass guitar, rhythm and 12-string guitar
  • Dale “Buffin” Griffin – vocals, drums, percussion
  • Mick Ralphs– rhythm guitar, backing vocals
  • Howie Casey– tenor saxophone
  • Jack McPherson – tenor and baritone saxophone
  • Mike Hurwitz –cello
  • Graham Preskett –violin, conductor, tubular bells
  • Sue Glover, Sunny Leslie – backing vocals
  • Lynsey De Paul– backing vocals
  • Barry St. John – backing vocals
  • Thunder Thighs (Karen Friedman, Dari Lalou, Casey Synge) – backing vocals
  • Roslav Szaybo – design

Track listing:

All tracks by ian Hunter, except where noted.

  1. The Golden Age of Rock ‘n’ Roll
  2. Marionette
  3. Alice
  4. Crash Street Kidds
  5. Born Late ’58 – Overend Watts
  6. Trudi’s Song
  7. Pearl ‘n’ Roy (England)
  8. Through the Looking Glass
  9. Roll Away the Stone

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.