On March 24, 1992.


On March 24, 1992, “Elektra” label released “Apollo 18”, the fourth They Might Be Giants studio album. It was recorded in March 1991,  at “The Magic Shop” in New York City, and was produced by John Flansburgh and John Linnell. The album was associated with “International Space Year”, for which They Might Be Giants were declared the official “musical ambassadors” by “NASA”.


  • John Flansburgh– songwriting, vocals, guitars, bass, synth bass, programming, horns, percussion, sound effects
  • John Linnell– vocals, accordion, keyboards, saxophones, clarinet, programming, synth bass
  • Mark Feldman– violin
  • Garo Yellin –cello
  • Jim Thomas –drums
  • Laura Cantrell– vocals
  • Julie Cohen – vocals
  • Peter Stampfel– banjo, vocals
  • Nicholas Hill – vocals
  • Elma Mayer – vocals
  • Brian Dewan– vocals
  • Amy Allison – vocals
  • Edward Douglas IV – engineer
  • Bruce Calder – engineer
  • Brian Pollack – engineer
  • UE Nastasi – engineer
  • Patrick Dillett– mixing
  • Paul Angelli – recording
  • John Flansburgh – design
  • Marjorie Galen – art assistance
  • Ralph Morse– photography
  • Don Uhrbrock – photography
  • Otto Seibold– photography
  • Fred Tomaselli– sculpture

Track listing:

All tracks by They Might Be Giants, except where noted.

  1. Dig My Grave
  2. I Palindrome I
  3. She’s Actual Size
  4. My Evil Twin
  5. Mamma
  6. The Statue Got Me High
  7. Spider
  8. The Guitar (The Lion Sleeps Tonight) – They Might Be Giants,Hugo Peretti, Luigi Creatore and George David Weiss
  9. Dinner bell
  10. Narrow Your Eyes
  11. Hall of heads
  12. Which Describes How You’re Feeling
  13. See the Constellation
  14. If I Wasn’t Shy
  15. Turn Around
  16. Hypnotist of Ladies
  17. Fingertips: Everything’s Catching On Fire
  18. Fingertips: Fingertips
  19. Fingertips: I Hear The Wind Blow
  20. Fingertips: Hey Now Everybody Now
  21. Fingertips: Who’s That Standing Out My Window?
  22. Fingertips: I Found A New Friend
  23. Fingertips: Come On And Wreck My Car
  24. Fingertips: Aren’t You The Guy Who Hit Me In The Eye?
  25. Fingertips: Please Pass the Milk, Please
  26. Fingertips: Leave Me Alone
  27. Fingertips: Who’s Knocking On The Wall?
  28. Fingertips: All Alone
  29. Fingertips: What’s That Blue Thing Doing Here?
  30. Fingertips: Something Grabbed Ahold Of My Hand
  31. Fingertips: I Cannot Understand You
  32. Fingertips: I Heard A Sound
  33. Fingertips: Mysterious Whisper
  34. Fingertips: The Day That Love Came To Play
  35. Fingertips: I’m Having A Heart Attack
  36. Fingertips: Fingertips”(reprise)
  37. Fingertips: I Walk Along Darkened Corridors
  38. Space Suit

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.